Filicudi, whose original name was Phenicusa has a surface area of 9.5 square kilometers.
To the south-east a marvellous small peninsula extends seaward crowned
by a peak (164 m.) called Capo Graziano, giving the island the appearance of a turtle.
In Capo Graziano are visible the remains of a prehistoric village.
The stone bases of the huts
and the valuable pottery found there, now on show in the museum of Lipari,
bear witness to the importance of the island sice the Bronze Age.
Capo Graziano gives its name to the Aeolian culture of that period.
The three main areas of habitation are Filicudi Port, Pecorini and Valdichiesa.
Filicudi Port is the principal place of embarcation and is connected by a macadam road
to Pecorini on the other side, and upwards to Valdichiesa (originally called The Valley of the Sun)
which is dominated by the ancient cathedral-sized church of Saint Steven.
It is surrounded by rocks, among with the Canna, a natural obelisk 85 metres
high and Montenassari with its ridges.
Particularly suggestive is the Grotto of the Bue Marino the biggest and probably the most
famous of the archipelago. Here used to live the monk seal, disappeared from Filicudi in 1937;
there are the evidences of the killing of the last specimen in that year.
The Grotto del Bue Marino is characterized by ghostly rays of light and a sense of mysticism,
which you feel when penetrating inside. The cave is 30 metres wide with a vault of 20 metres.
The sea over time has formed a lovely beach on the bottom and the width
and depth allow the boats to enter.
The climate, the brilliant light, the gentle violence of Mediterranean nature and the silence
make this island almost unique.